• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Fox

What Are The Best Modifications You Can Carry Out On A 205 Gti?

Fox

I'm fairly new to owning a GTI, and now I have a bit of cash I’d like to make it go a bit better, and I’m sure a few other people are thinking the same.

So, what are the best modifications you can carry out on a 205 GTI?

Yes, it’s a vague question, but if you had a standard GTI, starting from scratch what would you do?

gerry

better brakes :)

Baz

Nothing wrong with std brakes if they're in good working order. I'd say the normal service items, then reliability things. Silicone hoses, metal water pipe, bushes, drop links, beam mounts, decent tyres etc, then look at mods. :)

GLPoomobile

That depends whether your definition of "spare cash" is a couple of hundred quid or a couple of grand!

Miles' gear rods

refresh worn suspension (not a mod, but an essential starting point)

Decent front pads

I'm trying to think small here, and I'm racking my brains as the reality is they are so good as standard that there's not much you 'need' to do!

welshpug

Bar the obvious getting it exactly as it should be condition wise, Aftermarket management system, Coilpack and MAP equipped Motronic has made such a difference to mine :)

I'm happy with mine on standard suspension, I might even go back to the original springs instead of the 25mm dropped Ventura ones.

GLPoomobile

Oh, thought of another - solid rear beam mounts. Cost little, c*nt to fit though, but make such a difference to the feel of the back end.

Para

Mi16 of course

James_m

If you dont already run PAS, the faster geared PAS rack with no assitance is probably one of the best mods you can do IMO

S13Nick

a Turbo :), and brakes!

MrG