• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Cameron

[trackday_prep] Cameron's Mi16 / Gti6 Hybrid

Cameron

I think its probably about time I started a project thread. I've been working on my current 205 since about October 2006, it started off as a P1.5 1.6 GTI that was a piece of garden furniture at somebody's farm. Pretty much everything was shot apart from the bodywork, which was great for me as I had all the parts I needed off my old 205 (which incidentally was a rot box). I swapped all the suspension over and most of the interior and then fitted and Mi16 engine. The whole build was a complete bargain, it only cost me about £550 (including buying the car and engine) to get it on the road. :blush:

This is the only picture I have unfortunately! :)

th_DSC00043.jpg

Then in the summer of 2007 (I think) I got some Euro Rallye arch moulds off ebay, so made and fitted a set of arches. :blink:

I ripped off the old GTI kit and filled in all the rivet holes, then gave it a coat of paint.

th_DSC00397.jpg

All done!

th_DSC00483.jpg

It stayed like that for a few months until I moved into my student house in the 2nd year and had a driveway! So that's kinda when the really big changes happened, I'll try and compress it as much as I can but if you want to see the whole story there's a thread in the projects section of FrenchSportsClub.com. I'm going to try and keep both of these threads updated after bringing this one up to speed. Stay tuned for many more posts!

Edited by Cameron

Cameron

Managed to find a pic of how it was when I bought it! :)

n582530443_1503246_6517.jpg

I started by stripping everything down, starting in the engine bay.

th_29112007121.jpg

And then stripped the interior.

th_07012008001.jpg