• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
chalky143

Rust Proofing?

chalky143

Hey, anyone got any sugesstions on what stuff i can use to rust proof the bottom of my 205?

thankyou

leon

pete1986

I think most people use underseal, its a black paint that you can just brush on. Im no expert though and im not sure if it is the best stuff to use, but i expect someone will reply to either agree with me or slate me for suggesting it!

GLPoomobile

There's quite a few really good topics on here regarding rust proofing, which I recommend you serach out and have a read through. These keywords would be a good start

Dinitrol

Bilt Hamber

Frost

Or you could try something like this as the search criteria

+rust +paint

Then just have a trawl through the results :wacko:

EDIT: I just tried "+rust +treat" in the search and the results looked a bit more relevant than "+rust +paint", so give that a go.

Edited by GLPoomobile

grandos

I'm also interested in this topic. I also imagine underseal is the correct stuff to use, but not sure which brand is a reputable brand to use or where to get it from. Any ideas???

Otherwise I'll end up using some sh*^e from halfrauds.

Doh too slow :wacko:

CosKev

They sell some good stuff actually!!!! B)

The one with added Waxoyl is the one I like :lol:

If you are dropping the rear beam/tank and doin the job properly use a scraper to start with to remove all the dodgy old Pug underseal,then use a wire brush/rust removal wheel attachment in your drill on all patches of rust,then if its only surface rust I use Loctite rust remedy to treat it,get the welder out if its rusted threw!!!!! ;)

Then prime any areas that are bare metal,then use seam sealer on all the seams and over any parts you primed,then use your choice of underseal.