• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Ethos

Rusty Sills

Ethos

Hi guys,

Just after some advice really, is this too far gone to start fixing? If not, are we looking at silly money to correct?

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

toddydal

nothings to far gone,but only way to fix that is to totally cut out the rot and replace with new metal,so basically you want rear 1/4 bottom cut out and probly a section of the sill as well

Ethos

I've never done any bodywork before, but i'm more than happy to do as much as I can to cut down on cost. I'm guessing what you've suggested will be silly money?

There are other problem areas on the 205 with rust (inner arches are v.bad) so i'm a bit down at the moment now!! :(

steve@cornwall
I've never done any bodywork before, but i'm more than happy to do as much as I can to cut down on cost. I'm guessing what you've suggested will be silly money?

There are other problem areas on the 205 with rust (inner arches are v.bad) so i'm a bit down at the moment now!! :(

To be honest, I expected them to be worse than that. The outside looks worse because the previously applied filler is pushing out, but may well be surface rust only, I'd get a drill powered wire brush on it to see how bad the interior bit is - but at the moment I'd say it was unsightly but not structural - just depends what the next MOT tester reckons the level of corrosion is? You're still very welcome to cut the lower 1/4 s off my scrap shell

toddydal

its not a hard job for some one who knows what they are doing,but if you want to learn and keep cost down nows the time.

Ethos

What happens if I start going through it .... and it doesn't stop though?!!! :(

What are the 1/4 like on your scrap shell mate?

MOT is Feb time so I have a bit time to sort it if it can be saved without spending silly money.