• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
petert

New 2l Race Engine

petert

This is the 2L race engine I've been building for the past two years. I finally fired it up briefly to run the cams in, then I'll run it in on the dyno after I've finished the air box. I doubt it's going to crack 239hp like Colin's however, in it's current spec.! If it pulls through 210 I'll be more than happy as it currently has a hydraulic head, limited to 7500. After this coming season I'll put the big solid head on and lift the limit. For the tech heads, here's the spec.:

2L block

nitrided 86mm crank

forged pistons, 11.8:1

big valve 1.9L head

48mm TB's

GTi6 extractors

Autronic ECU

M&W CDI

post-2864-1172286891_thumb.jpg

post-2864-1172286937_thumb.jpg

Edited by petert

Sandy

Looking good Peter, I like the coil packs! I'll look forward to seeing how it does.

Ahl

Looks good peter, good luck with it. What octane fuel will it be running on?

petert
What octane fuel will it be running on?

our local leaded avgas. Typically 108 octane.

Edited by cybernck

pug_ham
our local leaded avgas. Typically 118 octane.
I can get Avgas at work :(, 100LL (low lead). Used to be cheaper than pump fuel. :(

Spec sound good, be interesting to see what power & torque it makes.

Graham.

smckeown

in the first pic the engine looks to be dropping on the near side ? If you compare it to the strut brace.

I like the way you have mounted the coil packs, i'll have to let des know about that to see if he can do the same with my v8 coil packs :D

Sexy trumpets, am hoping to get mine anozised along with my spacers very soon for the same tarty effect :D

What's a M&W CDI ?

petert