• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Stayclassysam

Idiot needs help with an XUD7 Head Gasket Change.

Stayclassysam

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new to the Peugeot scene having previously only driven VWs. My girlfriend recently got her hands on a 1.7ltr diesel Inca. The car had only had one previous owner and a ton of service history and appeared to be in amazing condition. However after driving it for 6000 miles or so the head gasket decided to blow. I was quoted £1000 fix by a few garages. One even offered to buy the car for £300. instead I decided I’d take the job myself as this was a car I feel I can learn a good amount from. However having purchased the gasket set, new head bolts water pump etc. I have a Haynes xud workshop guide on the way, but I’m really unsure as to what it is I’m supposed to be removing from the bay in order to get the head off. I’ve already managed to remove the cylinder head bolts with little trouble, but there’s so many different components that seem to be coming from the engine I’m at a loss for what’s next. I’ve read certain things saying you need to removed belts etc but I was wondering if this would be covered in the Haynes book. An idiot like me really needs a step by step guide on what needs to be removed. I also have noticed that there isn’t a diesel specific guide for the 205 so is the XUD guide my best bet? Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Tom Fenton

I’m sure the XUD Haynes engine book will tell you how to go about it. Quite a simple engine to work on tbh.

• Thanks 1

welshpug

like Tom said, the haynes diesel book is decent, I have two copies :lol:   they were written to fill in the gap as the 205 305 and 405 manuals only covered the petrol engines