• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Bobbafett

1.9 Gti Running Very Rich, Low Mpg

Bobbafett

Hello there. Bear with me, as I am a complete and utter amateur.

I bought a 1993 1.9 GTi recently, 65k on the clock and in v.good condition with a full service history. She runs actually really well, with a fairly rock solid idle. There are only a few issues I have discovered so far that you hopefully can help me with:

It is drinking a phenomenal amount of fuel. I haven't measured it, but I know it's down near single figure MPG. Strong smell of fuel but this has reduced after I put a standard exhaust box back on it (it had a 3" 'sports' exhaust on it when I bought it ).

I have changed the plugs, distributor cap, leads, cleaned the MAF and throttle body, fitted new air filter and changed the oil/filter. I have a coolant temp sensor on order (part #: 0280130026) Will this do the trick? Performance doesn't quite feel as good as it should with a noticeable lag in initial acceleration.

I should add that there is an intermittent illumination of the engine management light. The seller told me that it's been doing that since he bought it 10 years prior.

Also another annoyance; The courtesy light doesn't come on when I open the drivers door. The passenger door works when it feels like it and manually switching the light on also works intermittently. I opened it up and saw the switch on the drivers door only has 1 connector on it but 2 prongs. I cannot find the 2nd connector anywhere?!

Also related, the left driving light doesn't work. I changed the bulb and still nothing. What would be an obvious place to start?

Thanks in advance. I'll get there! I have given myself a couple of weeks off work so would like to get her sorted now while I have the time!

farmer

Might be an ECU temperature sensor fault.