• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Jake_GTI

[engine_work] '86 Gti Engine Swap And Mechanical Restoration (kind

Jake_GTI

Unfortunately my 205 died recently due to HGF, soon after though it was offered a new lease of life thanks to shalmaneser on here, came over to his standard for my auto bonnet and ended up getting his engine due to him working on a gti6 conversion!

so my little project has started! the idea is to do a like for like swap, my dead 1.6 (105hp edition i believe?) for the donor engine which had a couple of k less miles and various other bits,

eg: new alternator, gti6 starter, new belts, water pump etc. and no hgf!

i am no mechanic but with a little help from some friends i am planning to while the engine is out replace all the hoses with silicone hoses supplied by shalmaneser and some from bakerbm.

fit a new steering rack and track rod ends as i have play in the wheels which came up on the last mot, new gear linkages, anti roll bar links and a whole replacement exhaust system as i got a coke can ss system on at the mo and its noisy as hell!

so by the end of the project the car will be mechanically sound and handle and drive superbly once again!

so far i already have:

the donor engine + all ancillaries

crack proof manifold,

exhaust downpipe, center section + brand new rear silencer,

anti roll bar links,

track rod ends,

used (but in better condition than my current ones) driveshafts,

silicon hose kit,

uprated gear selector rods.

on order i have:

new k&n panel filter,

steel water pipe for after lower rad pipe,

steeering rack,

bronze bush kit for the L gear linkage.

any help along the way or anything you think i should also be replacing while i'm at it would be greatly appreciated!

cheers guys

omega