• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
jengis

Completed 2.0l Conversion

jengis

I have had the XU10J2 engine from a 306 XSi in the 205 (1.6 GTi) for 2 months now and thought people may like to know some pros and cons of the conversion. I used the 205's Jetronic engine management as the 306 XSi inlet plenum seemed too long/high to fit (and I hate wiring). Please see the post in small conversions section for full low-down on the job.

It was a fairly straight forward swap, as expected. The simplicity of it is the main reason for choosing this engine as I am no expert in mechanics. Its also cheap. £250 may sound like a lot for a second hand engine but I was confident of its history and I got an XSi gearbox, new clutch, loom, starter and alternator plus a box of various other associated 306 bits for that price. ( I chose to run the 1.6 box though, XSi one for spares)

To say I am pleased with the resultant performance is an understatement. I know I was going from a 1.6 but it’s such a big increase in useable power. Many people go for 1.9 conversions, as it’s such an obvious budget upgrade. I must admit to not having driven a 1.9, so I can’t compare. I also have a 306 GTi-6 and the 205 is now the quicker car, especially at lower speeds. I have not had it on the rollers but I have other (admittedly slightly illegal) ways of measuring car performance and it has surprised me how well it goes. For example, 60 – 100 mph in 11.0 seconds (average of 3 runs, all within 0.3 secs) wheras the GTi-6 takes 12.5 seconds. Standard 1.9 GTi’s are around 14 seconds (according to various publications).