• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
vicious-monkey87

Brown Multiplug

vicious-monkey87

sorry for another thread concerning the brown multiplug issue!

i've used the search function but i haven't found the answer i'm looking for!

basically my pug will bumpstart but won't start on the key.

when i turn the key, everything lights up then when i turn it to ignition all it does is make an electrical humming sound.

i've been told that this is due to either a faulty starter motor or a bad connection in the brown multiplug?

i have limited mechanical knowledge so i was hoping that somebody could confirm that this is the right plug?

photo338eb3.jpg

photo339df3.jpg

also could someone give me an idea as to where the starter motor is?

cheers!

GLPoomobile

Yeah, that's the ugly grimy little f***er right there!

For the starter motor, look to the left of that a few inches, under the inlet manifold. It's a big cylinder shaped bugger. Very large and hard to miss :blink:

vicious-monkey87

thanks mate, i'll have a go at that now then!

projectpug

The hum is the sound of the fuel pump. Usually its the started thats faulty well for me it is im on my 3rd in a year! LOL.

vicious-monkey87
The hum is the sound of the fuel pump. Usually its the started thats faulty well for me it is im on my 3rd in a year! LOL.

are they expensive to buy? or hard to change??

also, how do you disconnect the brown plug? mine won't come apart and i don't wanna break it! i don't see any release tabs or anything tho?

welshpug

doesn't matter if you break it, it should go in the bin :wacko:

replace the starter motor solenoid wire, and the brown plug (either cut it and solder or crimp the wires, and heatshrink over the top)

vicious-monkey87

solder it??