• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
munster

Painting Wheels - Checklist Advice

munster

I did a search, but didn't yield any definitive results. Although i know there is a great thread here somewhere about painting your wheels...

So Im getting my Speedlines shotblasted on the weekend and plan to paint them myself. Can someone confirm or correct my plan of action..

1 - Wheels shotblasted and wiped down

2- Apply Halfords High build primar. (is one coat enough?)

3- Wet and dry the primar

4- Apply paint (Can i get the original Speedline silver from Halfords? And how many coats of paint?)

5- Apply laquer

6- Admire my wheels.

I have never done this before, so please save me from any potential cock ups.

Im hoping i can get all i need from one trip to Halfords :lol:

welshpug

Find an autopaints supplier, they will be able to mix you some paint to match the original colour, Peugeot's code for them is EVE.

also likely to be cheaper :lol:

205wrc

Personally I would Etch prime them first with something like UPOL Acid-8, as it gives a better adhesion to the bare alloy. You can get it in Halfords (red aerosol tin with a silver top) A bit pricey at £9.99 a tin but its sh#t hot primer.

20080322image0224fq3.jpg

Rub the primer down with wet and dry.

Then spray them with your high build primer to fill in the imperfections - UPOL High-5, again from Halfords @ £9.99 a tin (blue one this time with a silver top)

Then rub the high build primer down using wet and dry before spraying with the colour.

Before spraying the laquer on I usually roughen the paint slightly using a grey Scotchbrite pad just to get the shine off the paint and to give the laquer something to bite to.

Thats the method I use when I went from this.................

20080322image0211rx1.jpg