• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
ccgoose

Over Filling Expansion Tank

ccgoose

Morning all, forgive me if this sounds stupid, i'm just starting out on car maintenance!!

i changed the water pipe on my 205 yesterday, topped up with antifreeze and water, drove about half a mile down the road and it pissed the coolant everywhere and there was none in the expansion tank. Got the car towed home and tried to source where the leak was coming from but with water everywhere there was no hope. i topped it up again this morning but was hungover and filled it up to the brim, i presume this excess coolant will come out somewhere but where? I've checked the distrubtion block (where my water pipe connects to) and there is nothing leaking from there, it seems to be the gearbox side of the engine bay where water is coming, does the expansion tank have an over flow of some sort ?

yorkshirekowboy
Morning all, forgive me if this sounds stupid, i'm just starting out on car maintenance!!

i changed the water pipe on my 205 yesterday, topped up with antifreeze and water, drove about half a mile down the road and it pissed the coolant everywhere and there was none in the expansion tank. Got the car towed home and tried to source where the leak was coming from but with water everywhere there was no hope. i topped it up again this morning but was hungover and filled it up to the brim, i presume this excess coolant will come out somewhere but where? I've checked the distrubtion block (where my water pipe connects to) and there is nothing leaking from there, it seems to be the gearbox side of the engine bay where water is coming, does the expansion tank have an over flow of some sort ?