• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
hexhamstu

Carbs, Few Questions

hexhamstu

search function hasnt really found what im looking for

basically i want to stick some carbs on my 1.6, was wondering what exactly i need to remove ignition wise, and what i need to do with the fuel pump. i read the guide on the mainsite was just wondering if anyone else had any input.

also if im going for carbs should i keep going and stick a different cam in.

any input would be great. just want to get some hints and tips before i start.

rapidmi

you could prob keep the same pump and just use a pressure reg to drop the pressure down. im no carb expert tho

hexhamstu

you got any pics of your car rapid mi, the red one in your sig. does it have rallye arches on its hard to see

rapidmi

Track3.jpg

des002.jpg

theres two mate if that helps, u thinking of them?

Coonper

It might be worth running an uprated fuel pump, ie facet red top. Otherwise you can use your standard one, with 2 pressure regulators in there.

You dont have to put a new cam in, but of course you will see better gains. But i wouldnt put a really lairy cam in, otherwise it wont tick over till about 2000rpm!

I'd say definitely do the conversion, its worth it just for the sound! :)

tri_longer
search function hasnt really found what im looking for

basically i want to stick some carbs on my 1.6, was wondering what exactly i need to remove ignition wise, and what i need to do with the fuel pump. i read the guide on the mainsite was just wondering if anyone else had any input.

also if im going for carbs should i keep going and stick a different cam in.

any input would be great. just want to get some hints and tips before i start.

I'm planning on exactly the same as you, and it's not that big a task really.