• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest adrian1987

1.9 Rear Discs On A 1.6?

Guest adrian1987

Hey I'm new to this and i've already done a search for this and found no certain answer to my question....

Is it possible to fit 1.9 rear discs to a 1.6 beam? and is it really worth converting the drums to discs? I know that discs dont lock up as easily on rear wheel lift when cornering hard, but other than that is there really a benefit on a fast road car?

My newly bought 205 is a 1.6 with a 1.9 engine fitted, with a 4 branch manifold, full stainless and KnN. Would rear discs really be neccessary for this kind of power?

Jrod

Yes it is possible.

I find discs soooooooo much easier to work it it was worth it just for that.

I have for sale all the parts you need to covnert a 1.6 beam to a 1.9 one, I've only taken them off as i have to swap back to drums for my rallying rules.

Guest adrian1987

I have to admit drums have always been a pain to work with no matter what car theyre on.

How much you asking for the parts, and what parts are they?

Do they really help stop the car any faster?

Jrod

I don't think they stop the car any faster as most of the braking is done at the front, they might last longer though as they don't over heat like drums can.

I'm after about £100 as its all in good condition. Thats good calipers and discs (with uprated pads iirc) Nearly new handbrake cables, stub axles, hubs... it's everything you need except brake lines, I can even supply the copper brake lines and you can just buy some flexi ones from a local motorfactor.

pug_ham

One recent topic asking the same;

http://forum.205gtidrivers.com/index.php?showtopic=81503