• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
robbiecfc

Engine Rebuild

robbiecfc

Hi All,

I've decided this years winter project for myself is to do an engine rebuild. Fair enough you all say off you go B) Thing is, while I've taken engines out of cars, changed clutches etc, etc I've never stripped an engine totally and put it back together again. I'm picking up a XU9 8V in a couple of weeks and that shall be my test case. Anyone got any links or howto guides to start me off?

Plan as follows:

> 3 weeks, drive to England, pick up engine

> 3 - 7 weeks, strip, clean, analyse engine, and paint engine block

> 7 - 11 weeks, get relacement bits as needed (gaskets, seals, few improvement bits)

> Week 12 - Put together (Think thats called a dry build)

As i'm a complete novice the digital camera will get a workout and hopefully I'll be able to catelogue my triumphs and more probably my failures.... and maybe make an article out of it.

Baz

There's probably already a guide on here somwehere, if you've already searched apologies!

Budget between around £3-400 for parts alone. Give or take a bit on depending factors. Crank regrind if needed, thought about having any extras? Lightened & Balanced bottom end etc?

robbiecfc

Hmm,

Extra's I've thought about..

Baffled sump, my mum had a 405 GTX years ago that I could make the oil light flash at will (I was learning to drive at the time :) )

Balanced bottom end a definite though with a lightened flywheel and uprated oil pump spring

Forged pistons? Dunno are they really needed?

The head I will do myself I think

Stronger valve springs and a light porting of manifold and inlet ports (will plagerise from photos of other professionally done heads) or might get a head done by someone else and try an copy it myself with a dremel!!!