• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
rory182

Timing Belt Question

rory182

Hi Guys, newbie here.

I'm travelling to London on Monday to view a 1.9gti, the car sounds like a bit of a rare beast in that it's had 1 owner since 1991 and is on 55k miles.

I read on 205gtidrivers website that it's due a belt at 48k miles. Is there an age at which belts should be changed i.e. say the car hits 5 years old but hasn't covered 48k miles in that time is it due a change? My 182 for instance is every 72k or 5 years whichever comes first.

Anyway the issue is, lack of history with the car, so I don't know if the belts ever been done. I am fully intent on changing the belt asap, but I need to get the car from London to Glasgow and driving it is the plan.

Am I mad to drive a 17 year old 1.9gti 400 miles on motorway knowing it's done 55k miles and not knowing if the belts been done?

I would have used the search feature but it's down, so I'm sorry if this kind of question has been done to death.

chris1986

just a risk if you do it. could you not set off and disconnect something so it doesn't run and ring up recovery if you have one and get towed home?

Edited by chris1986

rory182

haha that was one of my first thoughts actually, hence I joined the AA yesterday!

Is it a big risk though? Are the belts likely to fail quite soon after the recommended change? I know its not an exact science but some car's are worse for it than others.

They don't fail safe, do they? Bent valves to be expected if it did go?

Guest jonathanes

Hi Rory,

welcome and good luck :)