• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
M_R_205

Valve Sizes

M_R_205

I bought an mi16 a while back which supposedly had a head as built buy David baker which came with a supposed 36.5mm inlets however on finally pulling the engine apart the valves dont quite measure 36.5mm my vernier measures 35.94mm, can I rest assured that I have not had my eyes conned out and that a 36.5 mm valve can be slightly smaller and they round it up?

secondly can I prove it is one of his heads, its all well and good having the big valves but if some idiot has just crammed a flap wheel in for 20 mins and re cut the seats for the bigger valves I may as well have thrown my money away, and as im no expert on how a `good` throat should look I cant really tell if has been done by him or some clown!!!

Edited by M_R_205

PumaRacing

My valves are 36.5mm exactly. This is not one of my heads.

M_R_205
My valves are 36.5mm exactly. This is not one of my heads.

thats a real gutter, if i was to upload a couple of pics would you be able to give your opinion on it?

petert

I wouldn't get too upset about 0.5mm. Getting the seat work correct is far more important.

M_R_205
I wouldn't get too upset about 0.5mm. Getting the seat work correct is far more important.

i agree with you there, i just hope the head is decent and not a cowboy job, im gona up load sum pics when i get home from work let ppl give opinions on it...

smckeown

as it's off why not get it flow tested by someone like QEP ?

M_R_205
as it's off why not get it flow tested by someone like QEP ?

good plan! what sort of price is involved? however i have no idea what all the flow figures mean, ive seen the CFM figures in other threads but its meaningless to me....

Sandy