• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
jacobs53

Who Wants To Know The Ideal Runner Length For An Engine?

jacobs53

I have been using 4 stroke head for over 3 months now, and I have finally found out how to obtain the best runner lengths for both inlet and exhaust. Im going to post these up

What engines do you need information for???

I need the following spec..

RPM where max power is produced (not max permitted speed!)

bore

stroke

CR

and thats it! seems so easy from your seat but I have to compute all this information to obtain the ideal lengths.... I wonder how far off the mi16 inlet and gti6 inlet are from being perfect?

I was testing this on the 206gti engine and the inlet runner needed to be 247mm long!!! to obtain approx. 267bhp at 9000rpm. And the exhaust needed to be 290 - 330mm long.

lee

nick

247mm is roughly 10" which at a guess is about the same as an Mi inlet.

So sounds about right.

Nick

Rippthrough

Surely you need the cam specs. to do it accurately? As otherwise the pulse might arrive too early/late with low overlap cams? :)

Anyway:

6600rpm

75 bore

77 stroke

10.4:1

-Phillip

Edited by Rippthrough

smckeown

6625rpm

83 bore

88 stroke

11.25:1

Edited by smckeown

jacobs53

well thats what I first thought about the cam timing..... but aparently the cam is does not alter the lengths by much at all!!! considering the application is racing use.

second though supply me with valve size for inlet and exhaust... sorry forgot this one!!! :)

lee

Edited by jacobs53

James_R

interested in the GTi-6

inlet -34.1mm inlets

Exhaust - 30.6mm

12:1

And

11.5:1

petert

36.5mm inlet

30.0mm exhaust

86.5mm bore

86mm stroke

11.8:1

Sandy

It's not something you can model accurately, there's far more variables than that at work. Trial and error produces suprising results.