• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
stutto

Big Ends?

stutto

I was happy this morning because yesterday I changed the discs, pads and all of the gearchange rods and bushes. I took it out for a spin and the gearchange felt better plus no more vibration under braking. Then it started making a noise, at first I thought that I had failed to tighten the heatshield over the 'L' pivot properly but now I believe it to be the big ends.

The noise sounds almost like a heatshield vibrating against something else in the engine bay but only occurs under load.

Do my assumptions sound OK or am I way off?

Assuming (always dangerous) that it is the big ends how hard is it to replace them (I have never done any engine work before) and what will the parts cost? What would I expect to pay if I got a garage to do the work? I appreciate, from reading other threads, that I should at least get the crank checked.

ALEX

shot Big ends make a knocking noise rater than a rattle.

Usually worn big ends give low oil pressure too.

Could be pinking or a blowing exhaust manifold.

huzzer

I had the same problem with my 1.9 after I rebuilt the head. I was worried I might not have torqued something up properly but after some investigating, turned out to be pinking heavily. Definately check the timing first.

stutto

It shouldn't be pinking as I only filled up with V-Power or whatever it is called on Friday.

jim21070
It shouldn't be pinking as I only filled up with V-Power or whatever it is called on Friday.

Fuel varies from tankerload to tankerload, especially the high octane stuff, so it could be detonating (pinking)