• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Mike Walker

Lost All My Gearbox Oil

Mike Walker

Hello all :P

Parked my car up for the evening only to go out the next morning and find a big puddle of oil under the car which is definately gearbox oil (you can't mistake that smell :P ). I've just had an operation on my knee so i'm finding it difficult to crawl around underneath the car! I havn't had the 205 long so i'm pretty new to it but i've found what I think is the drain plug kind of hex shaped with an alan key like slot on the face?

If that is the drain plug it's still there and is dry :D I jacked the car up on one side which encouraged some more oil to drip out, I couldn't get far enough under the car to work out where from but its deffo not the drain plug so just wondering where else it could be from and why it's happened?

Rob_the_Sparky

Never heard of one failing that bad but I'd be looking at the driveshaft oil seals. The driveshafts go straight into the box with these seals to stop the oil dropping out. They often weep a bit but not heard on them failing like this but worth a try.

The drain plug is at the back of the diff, right by the subframe. Very hard to see if you are not under the car. There is also a filler plug on the end of the box.

Rob

Mike Walker
Never heard of one failing that bad but I'd be looking at the driveshaft oil seals. The driveshafts go straight into the box with these seals to stop the oil dropping out. They often weep a bit but not heard on them failing like this but worth a try.

The drain plug is at the back of the diff, right by the subframe. Very hard to see if you are not under the car. There is also a filler plug on the end of the box.

Rob