• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
acox99

Optimal Wheel Size For Sprint Car

acox99

Hello. im pretty new to all this, just started building an MI16 hillclimb/sprint car, can anyone help me as too what is the best wheel size for optimal grip and handleing, i am hopeing to put a 309 rear beam on and front track arms, is it best to stick with speedlines?

cheers for any help

Ali

TT205

I'm presuming you will be using List 1a road tyres

Most people use 6" or 6.5" rims (15's) with 195 50 15 or 195 45 15 tyres - you can't go wrong with Scudo Stunner tyres at ~£25 a corner they tear up and get grippy very quickly

There are a few using 13" rims - I've tried them myself and the car handles a dream compared to on bigger rims, but it is difficult (impossible at the moment) to find a decent tyre now that Bridgestone have stopped making the RE720 in this size

So ... I'd definately recommend 195 50 15 or 195 45 15 Stunners on standard speedlines

Maybe next season buy yourself some lighter 6.5" rims

Dave

PS just noticed you said Mi16 powered - in most championships you won't be allowed to run in road modified class with an Mi16 as the 205 was never fitted with one - so if you are put in modified production you can actually run slicks

Edited by TT205

tri_longer
I'm presuming you will be using List 1a road tyres

Most people use 6" or 6.5" rims (15's) with 195 50 15 or 195 45 15 tyres - you can't go wrong with Scudo Stunner tyres at ~£25 a corner they tear up and get grippy very quickly

There are a few using 13" rims - I've tried them myself and the car handles a dream compared to on bigger rims, but it is difficult (impossible at the moment) to find a decent tyre now that Bridgestone have stopped making the RE720 in this size