• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
rutlandguy

Group N Or Group A Engine Mounts?

rutlandguy

I've read the review thread on the BakerBM Group N engine mounts. Which contain a Group A lower engine mount. After reading the thread I'm concerned that this will be too hard.

I'm new to the 205 1.9 GTI and I'm used to current technology with regards to on and off throttle transmission shunt. Its obvious from the threads on the forum that kangarooing is an undocumented feature of the 205. However my aim is to minimise the transmission shunt as much as possible with out noticeably increasing the amount of vibration transmitted into the cabin. In light of the above would I be better going for the Peugeot sport engine mount kit instead of the BakerBM one?

The above vehicle has covered 138,000 miles and I don't think the engine mounts have been changed since the car was originally manufactured in 1989. One things for sure the lower mount isn't solid rubber but has a rubber and air spaced core.

I should be interested in the thoughts and findings of those who have fitted either new standard or Peugeot sport Grp N or BakerBM Engine mounts.

Also if anyone is local to me and has new standard or Peugeot sport or BakerBM Engine mounts and would be prepared to let me have a short drive of their GTI I'd be most grateful.

Cheers

Phil

Richie-Van-GTi

no where near you but a good compromise without too much vibration is a group N lower with TD top and box mounts.

r.u.sure

I've got Group N lower, g/box and o/s upper apart from the pyramid buffers which are std and find that o.k.

I found the group N buffers gave far to much cabin vibration

Sorry also nowhere near you either.

Edited by r.u.sure

stew205

Hi Phil,