• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest toby7

Labour Time To Change Rings And Bearings

Guest toby7

Hi there,

This is my first post to this great forum. I'm not a mechanical wiz yet (Office worker) but am learning as I go. So here goes . . .

My compression is between 145 and 155psi on my 1988 series 1 205gti with the 1.9 D6b engine. Engine at this stage is completedly standard including intake and exhaust) To restore compression to the correct values (What should they be for the D6b engine in psi) rings and bearings and head need doing. Standard compression I think is 9.6 to 1. Would a skim of 0.028 thou (.7mm) raise comp ratio to 10.1 ?

Does the engine have to be removed to do this work or can the rings bearings be done in the car. If It can be done am I saving costs in labour or is it better to completely remove the engine.

Finally . .If I do the rings, bearings + Rotate the liners 180 degrees, 3 angel valve job, skim head and blending only porting ( Not bigger ports as I want to retain gas speed for torque), port exhaust manifold and maybe intake manifold and Enlarge the throttle body by 5mm diameter will the standar Jetronic injection cope and run the correct fuel air ratio ?

Thankyou for your time and any helpful advice / experience you have to offer

Thanks

Pete

PsychoSimon

I would say it would be easier to have the engine out of the car in my opinion, as the bores would have to be re-honed/glaze busted for the new rings to bed in properly, and this is best left to a machine shop.