• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest donny206

Setting Up Gaz Coilovers

Guest donny206

I have just got my set of gaz coilovers and was wondering what is the best way to get them setup right?

The height is pretty simple but with the dampers, harder front or rear etc?? And also do i put them on the hardest and work outwards?

It will mainly be a road car but a few bumps doesn't bother me but dont want my windows falling out etc lol

Guest RACEFACE120

I set the rears on mine to fully hard, and set the fronts to about 2 and half turns from softest this seemed to work pretty well. I found the best improvement came from changing the springs fro the 275lbs one supplied to some 200lbs ones as this improved the ride quality and front end grip. this was on a standard 1.9.

HTH

Pete.

Pugnut

i'm no expert on coilovers but on other adjustables (no expert either)i normally start on the middle settings all round .once you've got the settings good for a straight line and you're personal preferences then work on the cornering. the harder the back is compared to the front the better the turn in will be . As with all suspension you're final settings will be a comprimise rather than 'the perfect setup'

please do a review on the gaz coilovers , i just recieved mine today :P

cheers Al

p.s. mine came with 8" 250lb springs

tom_m

the first thing you wanna do is get yourself a set of 180-200lb springs 250lbs+ is too stiff, unless you're running a seriously solid back end.

i'm running 180lb springs on my coilovers with 21mm torsion bars and standard dampers on the rear end. turn in is excelent :P

pug_life

i got 200lb springs with mine :P

personally don't stiffen rear as i had this on mine to start with and tailhappy was an understatement :(