• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

bacardincoke

Compression testing...

bacardincoke

Likely a fundamental question to many, however I'm still learning the basics as I'm going along.

Read various tutorials on how to do compression testing and understand what's required, however some mention removing either the fuel pump fuse and / or the relay.

Ideally i'd like to just remove the fuse as the relay is not only less accessible, as it's not causing any issues and the potentially fragile original I'd prefer not to disturb it.

Question is - will removing the fuse alone (on a 1989 1.9 GTI) suffice to cut off the fuel supply and will turning the engine over with relay still in place cause any issues?

welshpug

pulling the fuse will do the job to stop the pump firing but the injectors will still open and inject any residual pressure, easier to just unplug the injectors and ignition coil, you dont want any stray sparks :lol:

Edited by welshpug
  • Thanks 1

petert

I'd pull the fuse and let it run dry, if you're concerned. Then there's no chance of it firing. Pull all the plugs out and remove +12V off the coil. It's then dead as a dodo.

• Thanks 1

DamirGTI

Disconnect distributor signal cable @ the yellow 3pin plug , is what i usually do prior compression test .

D

• Thanks 1

bacardincoke

Had a go today and all very straight forward...

Was using a Kennedy Tools compression tester which I believe is the Gunson one re-branded (or maybe it's vice versa?) so not quite an eBay special.

Did the test twice... in the same order with engine previously up to temperature and the accelerator fully depressed while cranking the same number of times, readings were more or less the same each test cycle for each cylinder.

Left to right was as follows -

185 psi

195 psi

195 psi

205 psi