• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Canadian dave

Interior and wiring upgrades

Canadian dave

Wasnt sure where to out this, but thought it maybe of interest to some people.

Abit of back story first, I have owned this car since I was a 22 year old apprentice and now as a 36 year old mechanic I think it's fair to say my skills have improved. I know look at some of the things that I did to the car all those years ago and just shake my head!! One area which has been need of repair for a long time is the wiring. We all know they are not the nest wires cars from the start and then add in close to 30 years or repairs, bodges and track side repairs and it becomes a real mess. 

When I brought the car to Canada in 2009 I thought the car wud never see the road again, so out came the heater and a roll cage bar went in between the A post bars. Also built a very simple battery isolator switch plate out of an old number plate. This not only didnt surport the upper dash properly, but also due to the lack of a heater gave no support to the power/fuse board. While it was a race car I didnt care about all this. But once I got it street legal I quickly realized that having no heater in Canada in the spring was a terrible idea. Also various pieces of the dash where breaking due to the lack of surport. So I took the plunge and started building a new centre console.

I was going to use a piece of aluminum, but my budget is small and I found a chunk of thin stainless steel at work in the metal bin, so I figured I wud make it from that and remake on aluminium later if i have the time or money.20200211_103337.thumb.jpg.56f1aa18cff088d1d7ea7b8e98623334.jpg

20200211_105603.jpg

Canadian dave

In the console I wanted to put a radio, and I had libertad one from a skid steer at work a few years ago.