• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

SootySport

Looking for a 205

SootySport

Hi all,   Looking for my 1st. GTI but surprised at the asking prices, £5000+ for a reasonable non rusty one that doesn't need too much work.   I have seen a 1.4GT near to me and may consider buying and converting to a 1.6GTI, should be feasible as they are both carb fed engines, what do you think?    

welshpug

gti is not carb fed, hence the i.

there are plenty of gti's about for less than 5k, you just need to look and be patient.

dawning

Would be hard to turn a gt into a GTi as the gt is 5 door and the GTi is 3 door! Also gt is rare, rarer than the gti if I was going to make a gti replica I would look for a good pre cat 3dr non sunroof shell.

SootySport

As you can see Im a 205 newbie,  I did see a couple of 1.6 engine cars on carbs with GTI badging.  obviously just wannabees or  injection engines reverted to carburation,  one had motorbike carbs.   Just been reading Wikipedia on the 205 models and now more Au Fait on which model is which.

I'll take my time and see what comes up for sale, two are on my radar and just need time to view them, not easy this time of the year.

barneys66

Welcome, and good luck with your search. 

We all had to start somewhere, so good on you for reading up on them, and this place is an excellent resource too. 

Keep us posted on your hunt! 

Leslie green

Loads of cars out there as they survived in big numbers  but they are all old now and most will have problems and rust unless you are paying top dollar , 1.6 gti will be cheaper to buy than a 1.9  but they all cost the same to fix and you don't buy an old car without having to spend cash fixing it from time to time .

Many cars on Ebay have been relisted time and time again so are clearly not worth the asking price.

SootySport