• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
parv121

What Fuel To Use?

parv121

Hi all,

Probebly a question which has been asked many times....

i have 205 cti 1.6 ,phase1 1987. in my car manual it say run in minimum 97RON.

what fuel is best used in my car? unleaded or "super" unleaded??

Cheers people.......

regards

parvesh

scottc2010

I use v-power along with a 10W40 oil and have found it runs cleaner and smoother. The fuel saver shell is ok but supermarket fuels not so good except Sainsbury Super.

Biggles

If the book says min 97 RON then you ought to run Super Unleaded as (normal) Unleaded is only 95 RON.

Alan77

Pretty much only ever used Shell Optimax / V-Power.

Telf

I've been using shell 97 for the last 6 months and 'accidently' put 95 in the other day. Tbh I don't think there's really any difference. The engine sounds slightly quieter. I'm pretty sure it depends on how you have the mixture and dizzy set although gains on a standard setup 8v are probably negligible

Shane17

From research I have done I thought the higher octane is the fuels ability to resist detonation under higher compressive forces, as such it had no real performance increasing properties. With better fuels such as shells optimax it has a blend of detergents to help clean and maintain the fuel system and combustion chamber.

Higher performance engines tend to have higher dynamic compression ratios so a higher octane is required to prevent knock or detonation.

I could be completely wrong but I think the 8v runs a reasonable cr and the engine was based on fuels used back in the day like 4 star which had lead supplement so that is why super unleaded is recommended. I found I could get more mileage on super rather than normal unleaded.

Anthony