• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Mac Crash

Grey 205 (Evolving) Tarmac Rally Car Project

Mac Crash

You don’t need to be a user on this forum for very long to be impressed and helped by the brains and pool of freely shared knowledge here. The skill levels and standard of work involved with some of the project threads is clearly the inspiration and drive with a lot of perspiration for many to create their own project and document it here… so this is my first project thread which I hope will give me similar inspiration.

The view was to build a 205 for tarmac based rallying, in 2014 I bought a local white non-sunroof rolling shell minus engine/gearbox which had been out of use for several years, previous to this it had been a track based car powered by an 8v turbo.

There was little progress with this car mainly due to lack of premises to do the build work required, the daily 160 mile commute to work also meant there was little or no time through the week to do much. After securing workshop premises, closer inspection of the shell highlighted a fair bit of welding required, the wiring would also require work as the ECU loom was not present, finding a cardboard box in the boot with the large round brown connectors from the turbo conversion, then there was an engine and gearbox to source... a combination of the time constraints and the amount of work needed made me change my plans, I decided to buy a rot free car which already had the basic rally build set-up and to evolve the car from there and as we used it. Hindsight is a great thing they say and shows the importance of thinking things through, although having bought the shell impulsively due to it being local, it came with a lot of parts that I have retained for the new car including a brand new Quaife ATB and C44 roll cage.