• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
dartman

No Compression After Head Change

dartman

Changed to a longman head and pt28 Kent cam but after reassembly there is no compression in any of the cylinders. I'm no a mechanic and am a relative novice at engine building.

The one thing that crossed my mind was if the cam was fully allowing the valves to close. The head has had a huge skim and the valve trian is standard except for double valve springs, all the shims etc are standard, this has made me think that the valves may not be compleatly closed causingbthevair leak and therefore lack of compression. The cam said that it should have valve clearances of 0.25 for inlet and 0.30mm for exhaust, is this the gap between the cam followers and the cam lobe? If so I do not have a gap there. I then changed back to original cam and there still wasn't a gap. If anyone understands what I'm saying or can help please do!

Many thanks.

welshpug

you need to set the valve clearances by the sound of things, got a haynes workshop manual? its very well documented in there.

dartman

Thanks for the reply Yes I do have a manual. Did what I say make any sense? Would that sound like a reason for there to be no compression? Is it adjusted by shims?

Edited by dartman

welshpug

it is a plausible explanation especially if there's zero clearance with the cam lobe pointing upwards.

clearances are indeed altered by different thickness shims.

Miles

I guess the cam and head are from different places? If so they need adjusting, the right springs for the cam and then piston to valve clearance checked, No idea on the spec of 8v cams as it's been a long long time since I did a spec'ed one

dartman