• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
bondyshambles

Metal Water Pipe..... Why And How ?

bondyshambles

Hi there....I have just bought myself a shiny new Nissens radiator and a shiny new metal water pipe (fitted to the inner wing on the drivers side). I can find threads on how to change the radiator over but i have a question reguarding the metal water pipe. 1) What's its purpose?. 2) How the hell do i get it off?. It looks like 2 screws or bolts judging by the new part i have however, i cannot see what they are or how to get to them. I have limited tools and limited knowledge. Do i get them off from the top or from underneath the car? Also when refitting is it best to mount the pipe and then put the hoses on or, put the hoses on and then relocate the pipe?. Tell me its a simple job...please.

Cheers in advance.

farmer

The bolts are a nightmare, i drilled and re-tapped mine.

Once thats done its a simple bolt on again.

I bolted the metal pipe on first, then fitted the hoses i was a tight fit but can be done, especially if the hoses are new.

Everthing can be done with the wheel of.

Take your time clean the area and it should explain itself.

bondyshambles

So you are saying that i take the wheel off and get to the bolts from the wheel arch as appose to going from under the bonnet?

farmer

Yes. The bolts are usually star heads if they are original I think. Certainly mine were. If its the metal water pipe I think your talking about, then yes drivers wheel off.

Edited by farmer

BlueBolt

Yes, drivers wheel off.