• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Ftumpch

1.9 Engine Grumbles

Ftumpch

Hi all,

I'm a bit new to the 205GTI - in fact i'm only just considering buying my first one at the moment.

I love the way these cars handle - but to be honest I've been a little underwhelmed by the engine and am just wanting to ask about what owners have done to perk it up a bit.

I should say first off that I'm in Australia - and if I'm not mistaken the engines were actually de-tuned locally to comply with emissions laws and only produce about 100bhp. So if there are any Aussie owners here I'd be interested to know whether you've had any success converting it back to UK spec.

But more than that, it's not so much the power but the whole delivery. Mainly I've always been into English and Italian cars with quite highly-strung, small capacity engines, usually on carbs. In comparison I've found the standard GTI engine to be a bit wooden, characterless, and just not very sporty.

Anyone else get this impression, and managed to sort it so you're happy?

or perhaps the cars I've looked at have just been dogs...

Cheers

Simes

Hi,

Please search the forum for ideas, this subject must come up about 10 times a week!

It's not all about the power, although on an 8v the throttle response is pretty good. It's about how much speed you don't need to scrub off in a bend.

Enjoy! :)

88lp