• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Beaniemoo

1.6 Cti Running Issue

Beaniemoo

Hi there,

This is my first time posting on this forum.

I've got an F reg 205 Cti, completely standard but it has a bit of an intermittent running issue which is really starting to bug me, but its a bit early for me so I was wondering if you guys had any experience or advise reguarding this fault?

Basically it starts first time, everytime and idles beautifully.

Its just when driving it seems to stutter and misfire on half to 3/4 throttle, juddering quite badly and not accellerating.

If I put my foot to the floor it always pulls very nicely and cleanly.

It does this whether the engine is hot or cold, or if the outside temperature is hot or cold.

I've tried loading the engine up to see if its an electrical misfire (eg coil), but even if you accelerate at low speed in a high gear, it still pulls very cleanly if you fully depress the throttle.

I have put a full set of plug leads on the car as the king lead was shorting out (causing other issues lol)

It's also had a new fuel filter (as it looks ancient)

I have taken a fuel sample to see if there were any bits contamination but all is ok.

Was wondering if anyone could help with this?

If anyone needs anymore information I can go do some tests etc

Cheers in advance

ORB

Manifold air leak?

Slipped tooth on cam belt?

Beaniemoo

Oh yeah I never thought of timing really, as its not all the time, but I guess its free to check, and to be honest I've got no idea when the timing belt was last changed.

Where do you lock the crank and cam on one of these?

I've checked for air leaks and all appears to be ok

Beaniemoo

Where is this amp an how woul I go about testing it?

stufarri

I'd say from this happening on my 1.9 that it was the ignition amp too.