• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Russ_T

Dturbo Lumpy At Start

Russ_T

Hello,

My DTurbo has started to be a little annoying.

Key in, ignition on, count to five, starts well.

Give it about 30 seconds and it suddenly becomes a bit lumpy, dieing out a little bit, if you leave it and it's cold sometimes it'll stall and won't be easy to start. Generally though if you pick the revs up a bit and drive about 100yards it'll then be fine.

I'm new to diesels, but to me it's as if the automatic choke is coming off too early or something like that. I should imagine deep inside something like a tb is gunked up.

Any ideas please? I have a tacho sensor to remove and clean on the weekend and would like to sort this at the same time.

Also anyone know where I can get a replacement air pipe that sits on the top of the engine? Mine looks to be ready to collapse and this is AFTER the air filter so bad news :)

Cheers

Anthony

Very slight air leak somewhere in the diesel line?

Certainly that would fit with your comment about it running lumpy and not wanting to start if stalled.

Old tech diesels like the XUD can be an utter swine for these sorts of problems, as the leak can be extremely difficult to find - often there won't be a visible leak of diesel or maybe just a faint weep, and older ones are certainly of an age where the rubber pipes are perishing.