• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
fairway1

[misc_work] '88 205 1.6 Automatic (5 Door)

fairway1

Hi everyone, my name is Ashley & I'd like to introduce you all to my 1988 205 1.6 petrol 5 door Automatic.

I'm a class 1 HGV driver & a couple of months ago I was using Hull's Queen Elizabeth Dock on a daily basis & I noticed this 205 parked in a car park next to the main road at one of the container terminals. It was obvious it had been there a good while but there wasn't a speck of rust on it & it seemed in such good condition (but very dirty/dusty). I began to ask around the staff at the terminal who the car actually belonged to & after a fair bit of leg work I traced a crane operator who allegedly owned the car. I asked someone to pass my phone number on to him one day & he kindly got back to me a few days later.

The story he told me about the 205 is actually very sad. It was bought 4 years ago by him for his wife who had just passed her driving test. She took one look at the car & said 'I don't want that old thing' and went a got herself a brand new car. The car had a few months tax & MOT left on it so he took it to work one afternoon & parked it in the car park there on the dock.

He was made an offer for the car by another guy he worked with, but before he had chance to pay this guy got done for drink driving & driving whilst disqualified & went to prison for a few months.

All the while the Peugeot is still sat in his works car park on the docks.

As the months passed by the chap who owns it decided to try & sell it again because the tyres where begining to take root in the car park & his manager told him to get it shifted. He had it MOT'd - a full new set of new tyres & a complete new exhaust fitted.