• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Antix

Air Flow Meter Query [205 Cti 1.9]

Antix

Hello!

I'm new to this ..

... my 1992 (reg: April 22nd) 205 CTI 1.9 (cat) is lumpy on tickover, and kangaroos at revs.

I was advised to replace my air flow meter.

Just bought a secondhand one [bosch ref: 0280 202 109] which appears to be the correct one for my car.

I currently have a Bosch 0280 202 056 on the car, which appears to be for a 1.6 GTI/CTI.

Have I got the right part? [0280 202 109] and would the 1.6 GTI/CTI one be the reason for it hopping?

Oh yeah, when I change it the vendor told me to have the ignition in the 'ON' position to remove it?

Cheers,

Ant

Tom Fenton

Are you 100% that it is a CAT equipped car? As if I remember right, a CAT car will not have either of the air flow meter part numbers you mention.

You do not need the ignition in the ON position. I do not know why you have been told this. Personally I would have it in the OFF position to change any engine electrical components.

Antix
Are you 100% that it is a CAT equipped car? As if I remember right, a CAT car will not have either of the air flow meter part numbers you mention.

You do not need the ignition in the ON position. I do not know why you have been told this. Personally I would have it in the OFF position to change any engine electrical components.

AFAIK the CTI 1.9 was only available with a cat (105hp), and I assume mine is one of them.

It has an aluminium cover on the exhaust, at the front.

Engine number CW980103025

Miles

Yes 99% of 1.9 CTi's had a Cat and Jetronic fitted, It's another odd system but with the Lambda fitted they run sweat as compared to the std system.

I'm sure the 109 AFM is for a std 130bhp car so that will be wrong without looking but I;m sure a search would bring this up.