• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Raccoon

Mysterious Squeaking

Raccoon

Posting this here since I'm not sure where it should go :P

Anyway over the past week a strange squeaking noise has started when I'm doing between 10-40mph, it seems to speed up as the car speeds up. I'm not very technical when it comes to cars... for all I know it could be an excited mouse living under the bonnet.

Anyway any ideas as to what it is would be greatly appreciated.

Paul_13

I take it increases with road speed not engine revs?

ashwarrior205
Posting this here since I'm not sure where it should go :P

Anyway over the past week a strange squeaking noise has started when I'm doing between 10-40mph, it seems to speed up as the car speeds up. I'm not very technical when it comes to cars... for all I know it could be an excited mouse living under the bonnet.

Anyway any ideas as to what it is would be greatly appreciated.

It could be your alternator belt on way out or loss of tension in it. its a easy fix 30 mins work and cheap fix

jimistdt

Here's one - check the alternator belt is tight, they can make a racket. How loud is it?

Raccoon
I take it increases with road speed not engine revs?

Yeah it definately increases with the road speed

Here's one - check the alternator belt is tight, they can make a racket. How loud is it?

It pretty loud and pretty high pitched too, turned a few heads on my way home.

jimistdt

Does it go if you turn the heater fans off? :P ^It sounds like your alternator belt, cheap fix <_< If there's no adjustment left or the belt's disintegrating then it's time for a new one, best take the old belt with you to be sure to get the right one.

Edited by jimistdt

Paul_13

Brake pads still there?

Driveshaft bearing fudged?