• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest chrisw

Mi16 Reliability

Guest chrisw

Hi, i'm new to the 205 scene, basically i swapped a drift spec 200sx S14a for a drift spec S13 and an Mi16 205. It's got a Longman built bottom end, Longman cams, Longman head, twin Dellortos etc etc

I keep getting told that these engines are bulletproof, is this true? Or should i not rev it to 8 grand anymore?

Edited by chrisw

Anthony

They're hardy enough in a straight line, and will rev without too much issue - if it is still running hydraulic tappets (not sure if Longmans swap to solids for their cams or not) then they can "pump up" at sustained high revs (7500+) though.

Round corners, if adequate oil control isn't employed, is another matter entirely - they suffer oil surge and spin big end shells with alarming regularity. A search will reveal all....

Baz

I wouldn't say 'bulletproof' but yes they're fairly sturdy dependant on a few factors of course. 8k isn't that much...

hexhamstu

revving them is fine, as said its long corners that kill them.

S33GAV

Personally I've never found a reliable mi16! :P MUST KEEP OIL TOPPED UP (is what I force myself to say 50 times just before I go to bed)

Jrod

My Mi is the only unreliable car I've ever owned!

Guest chrisw

So a baffled sump is the way forward then?

Tom Fenton

You need to do a bit of reading my friend, unfortunately there is a bit more to it than that, in short, baffles plus mods to oil pump and pickup.

hexhamstu

The sump from an xu10 engine is deeper and is baffled, this sump fitted with an extended oil pick up is the cheapest way to battle the dreaded oil surge effectively.

dcc

I think its only the xu10j4rs which has the baffled sump (well single windage tray - not exactly baffled :)) found on gti6 and xsara vts engines.