• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest rowland977

Removing Driveshaft Nut

Guest rowland977

Hi I am new to thw forum, I have just bought a 1990 topaz blue 205 GTI. I believe the Cv joint is past it's best and i'm trying remove the driveshaft to put a new one in.

The problem is I can't seem to remove the driveshaft hubnut is there any special way of doing it, or any tips?

Any help would be great

Dave

Tom Fenton

You just need a correct sized socket and a large breaker bar matey. They can be tight but there is nothing out of the ordinary. If you really struggle you could drive the car to a local garage and get them to get it off for you with a air gun. Then do it back up tight-ish with hand tools so you can get it off yourself when you get home again.

chris-stdt
Hi I am new to thw forum, I have just bought a 1990 topaz blue 205 GTI. I believe the Cv joint is past it's best and i'm trying remove the driveshaft to put a new one in.

The problem is I can't seem to remove the driveshaft hubnut is there any special way of doing it, or any tips?

Any help would be great

Dave

I find your best to do it with the wheel on the ground and the center cap removed ,you will need a 30 or 32 mm socket and a big bar

Should come off no problem

jord294
I find your best to do it with the wheel on the ground and the center cap removed ,you will need a 30 or 32 mm socket and a big bar

Should come off no problem

as above ^^^^^^^^^^^

but you may have a caged cup and 'r' clip. so remove them aswell

iirc, it can be 35mm aswell

Edited by jord294

Anthony

Generally speaking, 1.6 GTi (and base models) are 30mm, and 1.9 (and 309) GTi are 35mm from the factory, although some aftermarket driveshafts come with 32 and 36mm hubnuts respectively.