• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
S@m

Xs Hot Starting Problems!

S@m

Hey there Guys! I'm writing this topic for a friend who has just acquired a rather nice 205 XS which all seems in good order, apart from it often refuses to start after its been warmed up, needing to be cranked for some considerable time if its to start at all. Sadly i have little experience when it comes to TU's and especially carbs (i'm used to dealing with my ever problematic Mi). I tried a search about this and could find little, its probably something ridiculously obvious if you have experience in non injection systems, but sadly i havent a clue. Any suggestions would be welcome!

Cheers!

Sam

Anthony

"They all do that Sir"

You'll need to start it with your foot on the throttle, and even then will crank over for a few moments longer than usual before firing into life.

j_turnell

I never had any issues with hot starting on my old xs, sounds like something is getting to hot to me, not sure if they have an ignition amp, cant remember, but i'd have a look at the ignition side of things.

Mark205

My xs did this, i decided to convert to a gti engine before i could be bothered to sort it out.

You can do two things that will help:

1) Fit an electric fuel pump, (facet probably the best), as they normally run off a mechanical pump which only pumps when the engine is cranking.

2) Fit one of those thick rubber gaskets inbetween the cylinder head and manifold as this stops heat transfer back to the carbs which is likely the problem in

the first place.

I think that the problem is heat transfer if the engine is getting to hot evaporates some of the fuel in the carb, when left it takes the cranking of the engine to work the pump to re-fill the carbs with fuel.

Mine always used to get too hot and i had that problem.