• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
eob

Mi16 Not Starting - Nearly There Though!

eob

Hey all. Most of you know I've been scavenging parts for my 205 on here for about four years, my freshly rebuilt Mi engine is in, the bodywork is done bar a polish and the interior is back from, eh, my mother who re-stitched the bolsters :lol:

The only thing is, it's not starting! Boo! Hiss! Etc ;)

I made up the link loom and it all appears correct. The ECU seems to be getting plenty of -/+ in all the right places according to Autodata but...

1. There's no spark.

2. There's no fuel injection.

Just wondering where to start on the path to diagnosis? ;)

Some pointers :D

1. The coil is getting plenty of positive current, I would also wager plenty of negative, it's earthed through the body of the coil correct? :(

2. The distributor cap/rotor are as new.

3. The HT leads are new.

Does the ignition system work independently of the ECU or does the ECU activate the ignition system somehow? :ph34r:

Really cannot wait to drive this so any and all suggestions welcome ^_^

Edited by eob

Miles

The coil doesn;t earth thou the body, it's seperate and depending on which loom you have the ign amp and coil + the power relay need this to work, But a good test is to check that the main power relay clicks when you turn the ign on and the fuel pump on clicks when you start cranking

Mr_save

Wich loom are you using? from a 309 or a 405?

mind that, me using a 405 loom i had to by-pass the fuel pump and relay,

and now when i turn the key it start itself. LOL...

also i remember that the ecu needs a positive more but i dont` remember where.. i have some electrical schemes if you need it!

eob