• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
mos

The Variousthrottle Bodies And Management Systems

mos

hi,

as the description says i am a newbie to this throttle bodies and management stuff having previously been a twin carbs and dizzy person.

there are so many different options available you dont know where to start.

like a lot of people i understand the basics of what these sytems do but when you get into the technicalities it can be a bit daunting to say the least.

what i want ideally is a complete kit from a supplier that includes everything i am going to need including a wiring loom. although i do intend to mount the ecu in 306 style plastic battery box so i will not need to splice this into the existing 205 loom to much, good job really as a lot of the original injection loom was removed when i fittrd the carbs!

at the moment i am steering in the direction of KMS gear through QEP which seems from what i have picked up on here to be good value and also has the added benefit of possessing a self mapping fuctionality to get you 90% of the way there and the remaining 10% comes from a mapping on a rolling road.

am i right in my assessment of the KMS system or am i wide of the mark

i know there are also a multitude of other different suppliers out there such as emerald, dta, weber, megasquirt etc to name but a few.

what i am wondering is what peoples thought/experiences are of the various options available, are some systems clearly better than others and what are my best options for a complete throttle bodies/managment kit.

an idea of price would be useful to.

p.s should of mentioned that the engine i am using is a 2.0ltr s16 donkey.

must also be plenty of people out there as inexperienced with this stuff as me who will find this thread useful.

thanks

mark

Edited by mos

Jonmurgie