• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
Cameron

Removing Underseal & Seam Sealer

Cameron

Has anybody got any tips for removing underseal and seam sealer? I've had a go at the sealer before in some very small areas using an old screwdriver and a mallet, but there must be a better way for removing it en-masse? Same question for the underseal, what's the best way to go about removing this? I've never tried before, so is it a simple enough job of heat gun and scraper or are there any tricks?

SurGie

I'v always used a few methods and found that having a hot room, heat gun, gasket scrapers/hammer and a big grinder, big brush seems the quickest/easiest way iv found.

S@m

When i had a catastrophic oil leak in my 306 it stripped the underseal off quite nicely. All it took was a slightly unseated core plug and job done! ;)

Sam

Edited by Sam306

Cameron

Take car to sauna / cause massive oil leak. Got it.

toddydal

heat gun or blow torch

stu8v

A radial type wire wheel on my angle grinder and about a month of my life..................................................

All told I used a mixture of heat gun, blow torch wire brushes and scrapers.

Must be the most soul destroying job ever.

Good luck :wacko:

205wrc

It works better if you heat the floor pans from the inside of the car while scrapping the underside. The heat melts the glue and comes off much cleaner.

CosKev

If your car has got aftermarket underseal/waxoyl on it use petrol on a rag first and it dissolves with ease ;)

Another tip sharpen your scrapers up with your grinder,just watch your fingers if you slip :ph34r:

As above heat gun and sharp scraper will get the bulk of it off,then use wire wheels etc to get the last stuck on bits off.