• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

ACJJ619

New spark plugs - loss of power

ACJJ619

Hey, I'm fairly new to 205 ownership and I've recently bought a 1988 1.6.

I always do a full service on a car whenever I buy one, and this is no exception. However since changing the spark plugs today the car seems to perform slightly worse, particularly at lower revs or on partial throttle. It does start quicker though - it used to turn over for a couple of seconds before starting but now it's probably half that.

The plugs I removed were a set of Champion C7YCX and I've installed a set of NGK BCP6E after doing some research on the recommended plugs for a non-cat 1.6. I can barely actually find any information on the Champion C7YCX so I don't know what the deal is with those.

Any ideas?

Thanks

DamirGTI

Anything you've done before the spark plugs ? like timing belt replacement maybe ?

Those Champion plugs are equivalent to NGK BCP7ES ... anyhow , won't be the plugs but rather something else "out or on the way out" .

Check for spark in dark garage or at night , should be nice thick blue/white colour , if orange/yellow that'll be weak ie. no good .

D

ACJJ619

I removed and cleaned the AFM with carb cleaner but that's all. I suspect there's an issue with the AFM as the car came with a spare when I bought it. It ran worse when I fitted it though so I'm unsure whether the spare was bought by a PO to install or whether they'd already replaced it and that was the old broken one.

The two little wire sensor bits in the AFM are a bit bent and it's missing the small black protective cover that's meant to surround them.

I'd replace it for a new one if they weren't a million quid.

Richard309Sri XU5JA 205GTi
39 minutes ago, ACJJ619 said: