• Welcome to 205GTIDrivers.com!

Hello dear visitor! Feel free to browse but we invite you to register completely free of charge in order to enjoy the full functionality of the website.

Sign in to follow this  
opticaltrigger

8V Megasquirt Tps And Stuff

opticaltrigger

Hi guys,It's my first day over here in "aftermaret engine managment" but it seemed like the right place to put this.We have a project thread over in "trackdays and race prep" and are just starting to get to grips with the MS2 instalation.

I have never worked with this system before and would realy like to ask you guys that have for some advise on a few maters.

I have done some searching but I just cannot find a definitive answer on the matter of the TPS sensor which is required to be mounted on the 8v XU9JA throtle body.

Does anbody know ?, Is there a TPS out there which directly fits on in place of the factory throtle switch and what is it ? Or is it a case that you have to make somthing fit and if thats the case what is considered the TPS of choice ?

Also guys I need to ask, with regards to the coolant temp sensor.Can the original Jetronic (blue plug) coolant temp sensor be used ?

And what is considered the done thing with the sensor for intake air temprature, i.e. what sensor do people like for this and where is considered the best location for it ?

Any thoughts on this would be great

All the very best

O.T.

Edited by opticaltrigger

welshpug

TPS:

Aa standard ZX 1.9 8v volcane unit can be used, as can the 405 1.9 SRI and the BX GTi, all three and likely a few more used the same throttle body with a full potentiometer rather than a two position microswitch.

from memory the spindle was shorter on these engines but otherwise the same, a little trimming to its length and the TPS should fit fine.

CTS: the blue two pin bosch unit is quite a commonly used one for aftermarket ECU systems, also happens to have the same resistance range as the later Jaeger produced green temp sender.